BCMA Awards Nomination Guidelines

The BCMA recognizes a number of individuals and organizations each year for their service and excellence within the sector.  To view the award categories and descriptions, please click here.

If you are interested in nominating an individual or organization for an award, please read through the Frequently Asked Questions topics below.  Once you are ready, you can find how to submit a nomination at the bottom of the page.



Who is eligible for an award?

The work being recognized by an Award may have been done as volunteer service or undertaken for remuneration. Nominees need not be members of the BCMA.

What do I need to submit for the nomination?

The Awards Committee appreciates as much information as possible in order to make informed decisions. All nominators should strive to provide a submission with careful consideration to what is meaningful and important. The nominator’s expression about why something has achieved excellence and how it has positively impacted a community is closely read in the adjudication process.

All nominations should include the following:

  1. Summary description of the project (75 words or less)
  2. Overview of the project (350 words or less)
  3. Description of the project’s relevance to the award category (300 words or less)
  4. Highlight of how the project exemplifies the values of Sustainability, Impact/Engagement, Innovation, and/or Excellence (300 words or less)
  5. Description of how you (the nominator) measured impact for this project
  6. Description of how you (the nominator) assessed and evaluated success for this project
  7. Description of the involvement of your community and any other partners in the development and delivery of the project
  8. External feedback from partners, audience and/or community

Formal letters of recommendation are encouraged, but not required.  You will have the opportunity to upload supporting documents as text or as PDF document in Question 8.

Sample Nominations

Not sure what to submit? Take a look at these sample nominations from previous winners. (Coming soon!)

Who can nominate?

Nominators need not be members of the BCMA. If the Nominator is not a member, a reference from a current BCMA member in good standing should accompany the nomination (upload in Question 8 of the nomination form). Nominators who are associated with the Nominee, as a co-worker, employee, contractor, or volunteer or Nominators who nominate themselves or their institutions for the Award of Merit Category, must include with their nomination a reference letter from a current BCMA member in good standing who is not associated with the nominee. Awards Committee members may also put forward nominations in accordance with these guidelines, in an effort to ensure that no deserving recipient is overlooked.

Can I nominate myself and/or my organization?

Yes. Since self-nominators have full access to pertinent information the Awards Committee expects to see a package that includes full details as well as a self-assessment.

Who is on this year’s Awards Committee?

The Awards Committee is independent and comprised of five individuals appointed by Council to evaluate nominations for BCMA’s Awards & Bursaries Program.The committee meets via conference call. This year the committee includes:

Tammy Bradford (co-chair), Creston & District Museum & Archives, Creston
Hanna Cho (co-chair), NGX Interactive, Vancouver
Kirstin Clausen, Britannia Mine Museum, Britannia Beach
Jill Baird, UBC Museum of Anthropology, Vancouver
Bob Campbell, The Exploration Place, Prince George
David Jensen, David Jensen and Associates, Vancouver
Haema Sivanesan, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, Victoria
Alyssa Tobin, The Exploration Place, Prince George

What is the adjudication process?

To make effective and consistent evaluations, the following general criteria will apply in evaluating Nominees for all three Award categories:

Contribution: Nominees must have played a significant role in the collection, preservation or presentation of British Columbia’s heritage and/or culture.

Resources: The qualifications or worthiness of a Nominee will NOT be determined in any way by factors such as the size of a facility, institution, or agency, the number of employees or volunteers, budget, or the cost of a project or program. Evaluation will not be based upon a comparison of the resources of other possible Nominees, but on the relative accomplishment that may normally be expected of the resources available to the Nominee being considered.

Quality of Achievement: Recognizing the Awards Program objective of encouraging excellence in the museums, art galleries and heritage fields, consideration should be given not only to what the Nominee has accomplished, but also to the excellence of the work relative to similar culture and heritage resource accomplishments and programs.

Accomplishment: Nominees will be evaluated on an actual achievement, not on an untried idea or concept. Awards will not necessarily be given on an annual basis. If no Nominee whose achievements meet the established criteria is forthcoming, an Award may not be given in that year.

How are the winners honoured?

Successful nominees will be announced, celebrated and presented with their award at the BCMA Awards for Outstanding Achievement at BCMA’s annual Conference. This year’s conference is October 3-6 in Victoria.


How to Submit a Nomination

Thank you for reading the FAQ and familiarizing yourself with the process and requirements for submitting and nomination.  When you are ready, please click the Submit BCMA Nomination Button below to submit your nomination and supporting documents.

Submit BCMA Award Nomination


PLEASE NOTE: Winners and nominees will be contacted in confidence, by the Awards Committee  and then publicly announced and celebrated at the annual BCMA Awards Gala during the BCMA annual Conference (Oct 3-6). Winners will be announced at the Awards Gala only. All delegates registering for the full conference receive a ticket to the Gala. Nominees, if not already delegates, receive one complimentary ticket. Additional Gala tickets can be purchased on the Conference registration site.