From time to time, the BC Museums Association administers funding programs on behalf of the Province of British Columbia. Recently, BCMA administered the British Columbia | Canada 150: Celebrating B.C. Communities and their Contributions to Canada grant program. 

BCMA also maintains a list of outside funding opportunities available to cultural heritage organizations.


The BCMA awards program was established in the 1970s to recognize individuals, institutions and companies who have made a significant or unique contribution to BC’s museums, art galleries and heritage community. The BCMA Awards for Outstanding Achievement serves to recognize contributions made in the following categories:

  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Museum Service & Stewardship Award
  • Innovation Award (Sponsored by NGX Interactive)
  • Award of Merit – Excellence in Exhibitions
  • Award of Merit – Excellence in Community Engagement
  • Award of Merit – Excellence in Collections 

The 2017 BCMA Awards for Outstanding Achievement winners gather with The Honourable Judith Guichon, OBC, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia after the 60th Anniversary Gala.

To see a history of the awards, see our Awards History page.


The Bursaries Program for the BC Museums Association includes two bursaries that may be awarded annually:

  • The Barrie Hardcastle Bursary for professional development in financial administration and management
  • The Joe Nagel Technology Bursary for professional development related to the innovative use of technology
  • The BCMA Conference Bursary helps off-set travel, accommodation and/or conference registration costs for delegates-in-need, students interested in the museum sector and emerging professionals.